USACOPS | Arkansas Agencies | Sheriffs | Franklin County | Franklin County Sheriff's Office - Ozark, AR | About Us

Franklin County Sheriff's Office

About Us

Department History

The county of Franklin was established on December 19th , 1837. It was named for Benjamin Franklin. The Arkansas River divides the county, and because early travel across the river was difficult, the county has two county seats. One is the Charleston (southern) District, and the other is the Ozark (northern) District.

The Franklin County Sheriff's Office covers an area of 606 square miles, which includes the scenic Ozark Mountains and the Arkansas River Valley.

The Mission of the Franklin County Sheriff's Office is to protect the lives and property of the citizens of Franklin County, to preserve the peace, and to prevent crime and disorder while constantly guarding personal liberties as prescribed by law. Our Vision is to continually strive to improve the service and protection of the residents in Franklin County. Our Goal is to always provide a professional attitude, as well as, safe and efficient services to the 17,771 residents of Franklin County.

Size of Department

28 Individuals
Sworn-17 Civilian-11

Area covered/jurisdiction

Franklin County, Arkansas
606 Square Miles

Return to homepage