USACOPS | Georgia | Police | Whitfield County

Cohutta Police Department

About Us


Jurisdiction: The Town of Cohutta is located on Georgia Highway 71 in Northwest Georgia within the Whitfield County Borders. The town shares municipal borders with the City of Varnell to the South, Bradley County and Hamilton County Tennessee to the North. The town of Cohutta is incorporated and has a full functioning city government, as well as fire department and medical rescue unit along with police services.

The Cohutta Police Department is a fully functioning police department that has 2 full time police officers, and 5 part time police reserve officers. The Town of Cohutta has full police and fire coverage, and has officers on call 24 hours a day. The Town of Cohutta also has excellent working relationships with all local County, State and Federal law enforcement agencies whom also patol within the city limits daily. Cohutta officers also deputized to assist the Whitfield County Sheriff's department with matters both on both a city and county level.

If you would like to meet with a Cohutta Police Officer regarding any police matter, please call the Whitfield County 911 Dispatch Center at (706)370-4900 or the Whitfield County Sheriff's Department at (706)278-1233. Remember to dial 911 if a true emergency exists prior to calling any other contact number. Business matters relating to the Town of Cohutta Police Department and Municipal Court and be handled at (706) 694-3330.

Thank you for visiting our town.

The Cohutta Police Department actively works with the following law enforcement agencies to keep the roadways, community and Town of Cohutta safe each day. We encourage you to visit a few our law enforcement partners to learn more about their operations, and how we are working together as a whole to make NorthWest Georgia a safer place to live and work.

Whitfield County Georgia Sheriff's Office:

Varnell Georgia Police Department:

Tunnel Hill Georgia Police Department:

Dalton State College Police Department:

Dalton Georgia Police Department:

Bradley County Tennessee Sheriff's Department:

Hamilton County Tennessee Sheriff's Department:

Tennessee Highway Patrol:

Murray County Georgia Sheriff's Department:

Catoosa County Georgia Sheriff's Department:

Whitfield County EMA:

Norfolk Southern Railroad Police:

Georgia Department of Public Safety:

Georgia Department of Natural Resources:

Georgia Governor's Office of Highway Safety:

Georgia Bureau of Investigation:

Georgia Dept. of Corrections:

Georgia Dept. of Revenue - Investigations Division

Red Clay State Park (TN) - Park Police


Return to homepage