USACOPS | Pennsylvania | Police | Monroe County

Monroe County Office
of the District Attorney,
Detective Division

About Us

The Detective Unit of the Monroe County Office of the District Attorney consists of five full time detectives, including the Chief County Detective.

County Detectives are sworn police officers with Pennsylvania Act 120 certification, and are empowered to enforce the laws of the Commonwealth throughout Monroe County.

Detectives are each assigned a specific type of crime to investigate, however, they are often called upon to investigate criminal activity outside of their particular specialty. County Detectives initiate their own criminal investigations and make their own arrests similar to any other police department.

County Detectives also assist local police departments and the Pennsylvania State Police on a regular basis, as well as lend prosecutorial support to the Assistant District Attorneys as needed.

The Detective Unit coordinates and supervises the Monroe County Drug Task Force, the Monroe County Gang Task Force, and the Monroe County DUI Task Force. County Detectives are all active participants in each Task Force. The Detective Unit is also an active participant in the Pennsylvania Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force as well as the Pennsylvania State Police Southeast Computer Crime Task Force.

In addition to each Detective's specialty, County Detectives are also tasked with the investigation of any crime committed on County property, including the Monroe County Courthouse and the Monroe County Correctional Facility.


Return to homepage