Lytle Police Department

About Us

The City of Lytle was incorporated in 1951 and our current (2007) population is estimated at 2,500 people. Our city limits extend into three counties, which are; Atascosa Co. (County seat Jourdanton, TX), Bexar Co. (County seat San Antonio, TX), and Medina Co. (County seat Hondo, TX). We are located on Interstate 35 South, just about 10 miles south of the San Antonio city limits and 132 miles north of Laredo, TX.

Our community is fortunate in that we can still enjoy "small town" living with all the conveniences of being 25 minutes from downtown San Antonio. Our department has an authorized strength of six full-time officers and six non-paid reserve peace officers, all fully commissioned & certified with full powers of arrest. We operate 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. We are a full service municipal law enforcement agency, we are well staffed and equipped to handle most situations but we are not afraid to call for help when situation dictates (We have great working relationships with the area agencies). We have a full-time Sgt. assigned to Criminal Investigations and two full-time Corporals that handle patrol supervision and related functions. We also operate a part-time bicycle patrol unit, with four members of the department completing the forty hour certification course. Officers are provided modern law enforcement equipment such as; laptop computers in the cars, modern radars and laser speed enforcement equipment, in-car video, and patrol rifles. To keep up with the changing times we constantly send officers to training courses, both locally and across the state.


Return to homepage